?

Log in

Food 4 Review!!!
 
[Most Recent Entries] [Calendar View] [Friends]

Below are the 20 most recent journal entries recorded in food4review's LiveJournal:

[ << Previous 20 ]
Monday, September 5th, 2005
10:18 pm
[friendpersonpat]
Triple Whopper
Name of Item: Triple Whopper
Chain/Brand: Kirkland, WA
Price: $6.50 or so, medium size.
Nitty Gritty: A bun, the works, and then three (3!) Whopper patties.
Optional Steps: One spartanfan has suggested adding onion rings. I intend to look into this.

Aroma: 7. Smelled like you'd expect from a delicious Whopper, but more.
Fillingness: 9. I could eat two myself, but I am beyond most mortal men.
Mouthfeel: Depends on what you're looking for. I know some people don't much rock the greasy food, and with three patties (mine were freshly made in addition) you will end up with a lot of grease. The bottom patty threatened to distintegrate. Nothing too spectacular aside from that though.
Taste: 7. Really good burger, though I think Wendy's famous Triple Classic is a bit better. Also, they used the standard amount of cheese, which goes against it a bit. Not enough cheese for all that burger.
Value: 6. Here's the sticking - it's not cheap. The price is good for what you get, but if you're looking for something you don't have to drop much money on this isn't where you're going.

Serving Suggestions: My personal choice is to get my burgers plain, with bacon and BBQ sauce. The onion rings were a good idea too. Though really, everyone's got their Burger Layour.

Additional Thoughts: Delicious meats.

Final Grade: 7.5. A worthy addition to the BK menu, even if they slacked on the cheese.

Stay tuned - I should be throwing down some Taco Bell reviews soon.
Friday, May 6th, 2005
8:33 am
[ljacone]
Achi-wawa!
Name of Item: Sausage Burrito
Chain/Brand: McDonalds in Aiken, SC
Price: $1.00
Nitty Gritty: One (1) flour tortilla stuffed with eggs, crumbled sausage, and I believe tomatoes and green peppers.

Optional Steps: One of the condiments offered is salsa, so I tried the mild variety.

Aroma: 5. Not really discernable except for a faint peppery scent.
Fillingness: 6. Not a big meal, but actually probably more filling than a single McD biscuit sandwich.
Mouthfeel: Pretty good. The eggs are cooked evenly, and since the sausage is crumbled it doesn't get chewy. The tortilla has a middle of the road texture, which is what you are looking for -- not overpowering but not non-existant either.
Taste: 8. I thought it tasted quite good, especially with the salsa.
Value: 9. It's a dollar, how can you go wrong? It may not be the most filling, but its cheap AND you can eat it on the go pretty easily.

Serving Suggestions: Get the salsa, either mild or spicy. Next time I do this, I am going for the spicy. The mild salsa is moderately flavorful but devoid of spice.

Additional Thoughts: I got this since I didn't have much cash (I also got 2 Hashbrowns for $1.00 as well), and I was was pleasantly surprised. For $2.12 after tax I got the burrito and hashbrowns and was certainly satisfied for breakfast. I would definitely get this one again. Its not as filling as a biscuit from Hardee's or the Enormous from BK, but makes a nice change of pace meal.

Final Grade: 7. Not as filling as I would like, but otherwise a good item worth checking out. Don't forget salsa!

Current Mood: burrito-y
Saturday, April 30th, 2005
8:40 am
[ljacone]
It's ENORMOUS!
Name of Item: Enormous Omlette Sandwich Value Meal
Chain/Brand: Burger King in Aiken, SC
Price: $3.99
Nitty Gritty: One (1) extra large omlette, with four (4) strips of bacon, one (1) sausage patty cut in half*, and cheese, all on a long sesame seed bun. Meal consists of a small hashrounds and beverage choice -- coffee, milk, juice, or a soft drink (which I opted for).

*The last time I had this, and on the commercials, it had 2 sausage patties, so I don't know if this is a unique occurance or a running change.

Optional Steps: A little salt and a little pepper.

Aroma: 5. Not really noteworthy either way.
Fillingness: 9. One of the few breakfast sandwiches where I can get just a meal and be full, even with the small taters.
Mouthfeel: This is the interesting part. When you first take a bite out of it, it seems odd because of the bread (as opposed to a biscuit/English muffin/croissant). But after another bite you don't notice, and after another you realize this is like when you get an egg sandwich on a roll from a delicatessen. The bacon can be chewy but that's fast food bacon for you. The eggs and sausage have good texture.
Taste: 8. Nice juxtaposition of tastes with the two meats. If they could cram some ham (hehe) onto this bad boy we'd really be cooking with gas.
Value: 7. Its a good filling meal, but at $3.99 its the most expensive item on the breakfast menu. Still, buying one thing is better than buying multiple things, so its still not a bad deal if you are hungry like I am.

Serving Suggestions: I like to put some salt and pepper on my eggs so I put a little of each on there -- maybe half a packet of each. I know some people like ketchup, and that is an option too, even though I don't care for it on eggs.

Additional Thoughts: This sandwich certainly lives up to its name as it is the biggest breakfast sandwich I have ever seen. And you know me I like breakfast sandwiches. I also think it is interesting that BK finally has another use for the Original Chicken Sandwich buns other than the highly elusive Hot Ham Sandwich.

Also I would like to note that the "Wake Up With The King" commercials are *bleep*ing messed up.

Final Grade: 8. A filling sandwich from the breakfast menu? Sounds good to me.
Wednesday, March 9th, 2005
11:01 am
[ljacone]
New Fish On The Block
Name of Item: Checker's Fish Sandwich
Chain/Brand: Checkers in Ocala, FL
Price: $1.00 each (I bought 3 of them)
Nitty Gritty: One (1) square fried fish patty on a bun, with tartar sauce and lettuce.
Optional Steps: None. I did buy three of them and an order of fries, but other than that, nothing out of the ordinary.

Aroma: 6. Smelt pretty good without smelling "fishy."
Fillingness: 5. I was full from 3 of them, about my average for $1.00 sandwhich. On its own, not much to abate my hunger, but your mileage may vary.
Mouthfeel: Hot, crisp, nice texture on both the breading and the fish.
Taste: 8. Tastes as good as the McFish or the BK Fish Filet (ne-Big Fish). Noteworthy in that it is the only one of those three without cheese.
Value: 10. I am a huge fan of fish sandwiches. And this one, clocking in at $1.00, is the best value for a fish sandwich you can find (at least, that I can find). Consider that the McFish and BK Fish Filet are both around 2 bucks, and that the Checkers one is the same size as the McFish and maybe slightly smaller than the BK Fish (Cheese and rice, either go back to Whaler or call it the Big Fish, jeez). That's a good deal where I come from.

Serving Suggestions: I like a fish sammich with fries and a soda. There's no issue of fish n cheese here, but if you want it I think they'll put it on there for you.

Additional Thoughts: Checkers is the first fast food chain I have seen to have their fish sandwich be $1.00 regular price. As long as they continue with that trend, I will like them. Furthermore, they also have the single most intriguing sandwich this side of the old McDLT -- the Deep Sea Double, which is a doube fish sammich for $1.99. Sweet Christmas! Looks like I may have found my fast food nirvana.

Final Grade: 9. Undisputed fish sammich value. Strongly Recommended.

Current Mood: Now I want a Fish Sammich!!
Friday, October 22nd, 2004
9:11 am
[ljacone]
Name of Item: McChicken Sandwich
Chain/Brand: McDonalds
Price: $1.06 after tax
Nitty Gritty: One (1) fried chicken patty (processed) on a regular bun, with mayonaise and shredded lettuce.
Optional Steps: None

Aroma: 8. Smelled surprisingly good. The fried chicken patty aroma is very nice.
Fillingness: 5. Okay for a dollar sandwich. For reference, I usually eat at least 3 Dollar Menu sandwiches (read; Double Cheeseburgers) to be full, so I would probably eat 3 or 4 of these no problem.
Mouthfeel: Contrasting. The chicken patty was hot (I had to wait at least 3 minutes at the window for it to come up!), but the mayonaise and lettuce is very cool. Chicken is pretty tender, not chewy or gummy.
Taste: 7. A good, subtly spicy taste, The mayo is flavorful because of the large amount of it on there.
Value: 8. Its not a TenderCrisp, but for a buck how can you go wrong?

Serving Suggestions: Depending on what you think about a lot of mayo, ask for only a little mayo (or none if you swing that way). Also, an old idea is to ask for it plain, but see if they will give you a packet of McNugget dipping sauce of your choice to top it with. I used to do this with BK Chicken sandwiches and Sweet & Sour sauce in high school.

Additional Thoughts: I bought this sandwich because I needed to break a $5.00 bill and wanted 4 singles (I had the 6 cents already). Doing some quick math, I figured out my next fast food lunch at McDs is probably going to be a McChicken meal ($2.99 I believe) and 2 additional McChicken sammichs for a $5.25 meal of 3 sammichs, fries, and a soda. Not bad really.

Final Grade: 7. A good sammich for a very affordable price. Has a little spice to it but not too much to turn anyone off. Recommended.

Current Mood: working
Thursday, October 21st, 2004
10:16 pm
[averypenguin]
Greatchicken.net Now Open
(Maintainers may feel free to remove this post if it is deemed inappropriate for the community.)

Greatchicken.net is finally open! This website is devoted to the Avery W. Krouse Chicken Seal of Approval Awards spawned from my personal LiveJournal. Having eaten over 7,400 fried, breaded chicken-based meals over the course of my life, I have become somewhat of a breaded chicken afficianado. I give ratings, reviews, and awards to the best (and worst) breaded chicken products out there, be they nuggets or strips, fingers or tenders, anything goes (as long as it goes fried and breaded). Check out the site (it's a work in progress) and bookmark it for future use.

--
Avery W. Krouse
Friday, May 21st, 2004
9:28 am
[ljacone]
Freedomowich?
Name of Item: Sausage Egg & Cheese Crossan'wich.
Chain/Brand: Burger King
Price: On special 2 for $2.22
Nitty Gritty: Croissant roll with scrambled eggs, sausage patty, and 1 (one) slice of yellow American cheese. (I believe you can get them with bacon or ham, as well, but they aren't on special).
Optional Steps: Nada.

Aroma: 7. Interesting. The croissant smells more appealing than the sausage.
Fillingness: 7. Good for two sandwiches. MUCH better than the Sausage Biscuit With Egg from McDonalds.
Mouthfeel: Light. The croissant is somewhat light and pretty fluffy, and the sausage has good texture, as do the eggs (more on that below.)
Taste: 7. The croissant is actually quite good, and makes this sandwich stand out from its competition somewhat. The sausage is mild but not bad. The eggs aren't very flavorful, but their texture is spot-on, which helps out the sandwich as well. But the croissant is the star here, tasting much better than a croissant from BK has any right to taste.
Value: 7.5. 2 for $2.22 is the same price as the special at Hardee's, and only slightly more than the one at McDs (which it is more filling than), so a good value for the money.

Serving Suggestions: Nothing springs to mind. The croissant is light enough to not require a beverage with it, and I don't know if ketchup would work with it, either.

Additional Thoughts: I remember distincly not liking these when I worked at BK in high school, but I thought for $2.22 I would give them another shot. I am glad I did. These are good sized sandwiches -- on par with the Hardee's biscuits -- and they are filling and tasty. Plus BK has French Toast Sticks, so if you get up early enough to eat these you could get some of them too. :)

Final Grade: 7.5. Good sandwich which takes good advantage of the differences between it and its competitors -- namely the croissant. Worth checking out.

Current Mood: I'M SPICY! (no, not really)
Tuesday, May 18th, 2004
11:40 am
[ljacone]
I called in drunk on Monday and...
Name of Item: 'Big Country' Breakfast Platter
Chain/Brand: Hardee's
Price: $2.99
Nitty Gritty: Platter with two (2) pancakes, scrambled eggs, your choice of meat (sausage, bacon, or ham -- I took sausage), a plain biscuit, and a small order of hash rounds.
Optional Steps: I got an additional order of hash rounds because I really like them and rarely have them. This added some to the price, but I will report only on the platter.

Aroma: 8. Mmmmm. The pancakes and the biscuit smell really appealing.
Fillingness: 7.5. You get a good amount of food for the money, and the heavier foods (potatoes and pancakes) help fill you up.
Mouthfeel: N/A. Each element is good in its own way, but as this is a platter its kinda hard to rate it. The pancakes are pleasantly chewy and the hash rounds are HOT.
Taste: 8. The biscuit, eggs, and sausage are good as usual. The pancakes were a surprise since sometimes these can taste stale, but these were good. Hash rounds were greasy, but that is normal for this fare.
Value: 8. It's the same price as the Breakfast Bowl, but with more variation (IE, starches since the BB is low carb).

Serving Suggestions: Something to drink. I had a Diet Pepsi which was fine. Make sure to get some butter and syrup for your pancakes, and either butter or jam for your biscuit.

Additional Thoughts: I called in drunk to work yesterday and decided to make the most of it by going all out with my breakfast. I was satisfied by this meal and thought it was a good value. Munching on this while watching Sabrina while I should have been at work is a good thing.

Final Grade: 7.75 -- It's a good sit down and eat fast food breakfast. Obviously this is not portable by any means. Not everyone likes this sort of thing, but if you do, you can't go wrong with it.

Current Mood: breakfasty goodness!
Wednesday, May 5th, 2004
11:31 am
[friendpersonpat]
The TenderCrisp: Now With Spice!
Name of Item: Spicy TenderCrisp Sandwich
Chain/Brand: Burger King
Price: I forgot. I think the meal was around $6.00.
Nitty Gritty: Same TenderCrisp you know and love, only now it's apparently spicy.
Optional Steps: You can order the special Hot Sauce on your Spicy TenderCrisp, which I did. It's a strange yellow sauce, somewhat reminiscient of the Smokehouse Sauce which will always remain in my heart.

Aroma: 10. First thing I noticed when I popped open the wrapper was this really nice, well, SPICY scent, mixed with the usual chicken. The one I got smelled so good, I almost slapped my mother across from me.
Fillingness: About 4-6, depending on appetite. If you're just stopping in for a quick bite, this'll do you. But for me, at least, lunch would compose of two or three with a large fries. But I eat a lot.
Mouthfeel: Tender. Crispy. Oh snap! They should call this the TenderCrisp!
Taste: 7. The sandwich is good, but when I order something spicy AND have more spicy ON IT, I expect my mouth to kinda hurt. It didn't, but it did tingle my teeth a little. A very good sandwich, I just wish it had a little more spicy.
Value: 8. I'm pretty sure it's the exact same price as the original TenderCrisp.

Serving Suggestions: I always have mine plain, with cheese. If you like SPICY, see if you can go double on the hot sauce. Either way, the hot sauce is a must because I didn't detect too much spicy in the chicken itself.

Additional Thoughts: A+ Good Sandwich. A fitting addition to the BK lineup, which has been all too devoid of the spiciness that makes Wendy's so much <3.

Final Grade: 8. I wholeheartedly approve.
9:53 am
[ljacone]
More Breakfast! More Breakfast!
Name of Item: Sausage Biscuit with Egg (WTF? Why is the name out of order?
Chain/Brand: McDonalds
Price: 2 for $2.00 special going on at the moment.
Nitty Gritty: Biscuit with scrambled-style egg and a sausage patty.
Optional Steps: Straight up. Did eat them in the car, though.

Aroma: 5. Not bad, a slightly sweet odor. Not as nice as the Hardee's S&E biscuit.
Fillingness: 4. As in I needed to eat 4 of these bad boys before I was full.
Mouthfeel: 8. The biscuit has good flakiness, the eggs aren't runny or soft. The sausage has good texture.
Taste: 7. The biscuit is seemingly brushed with a sweet butter, since it has a sweeter taste than any other fast food biscuit I know. The sausage is pretty mild, but tasty.
Value: 8. The 2 for $2.00 deal is better than the Hardee's 2 for $2.22 deal (when they run it; now they have Bacon, Egg & Cheese Biscuits on special).

Serving Suggestions: Something to drink. Biscuits tend to dry out the pallet when they are eaten without a drink, so grab a Coke or some coffee or whatever you want.

Additional Thoughts: I got these sandwiches while driving home from Aiken on Monday morning. I stopped in Greenwood, got two, then stopped again some 40-odd miles later in Anderson and got two more. They simply didn't fill me up as well as two Hardee's biscuits typically did. And with good reason -- they are slightly smaller. I suspect that the Hardee's ones are oversized, and that these are the normal size. The sweeter biscuit is nice, and adds a good contrast to the sausage. A little greasy, but no more than any other breakfast sandwich.

Final Grade: 6.75 -- Taste-wise, worth a 7, but the lack of fillingness is a bit disconcerting. Worth checking out if you can't find a Hardee's or if you don't have a lot of cash.
8:21 am
[bzarcher]
Figured I might as well drop this in, and why not something for the sweet tooth?

Name of Item: Classic Milk Shake

Chain/Brand: Steak and Shake

Price: $2.50 for a regular, $3.50 for a large.

Nitty Gritty: The large comes in a particularly nifty plastic cup, but either way you get a glass of creamily smooth milkshake, made up from real ice cream, not pre-mix. Whipped cream tops it (even for take out) and every shake gets it's own cherry garnish.

Optional Steps: They recently started a deal where for an extra dollar, hot fudge will be added to the shake. If you've got the bill, go for it! I'll explain why later. Otherwise, the whipped cream and cherries can be removed at request, and 'deluxe' shake flavors can add strawberries, chocolate chips, or oreo cookie bits.

Aroma: 6:If you get them in the restaurant as opposed to take out, you get a very rich, cool scent, dominated by the particular flavor of the shake. If you put a straw into your take-out cup, you'll get a bit of the same, but not quite.

Fillingness: I'd give this a 4. It's not supposed to fill you up if you eat it alone, but it does a nice job of settling in with a Steakburger and some onion rings. If eaten just for itself, it's pleasant, but not a complete appetite ruiner.

Mouthfeel: 8. These are very cool, rich, and very smooth. If ordered with the hot fudge, it also has a very nice change in texture, as the fudge tends to be warm and sticky enough to contrast, but not hot enough to take away from the shake.

Taste: 8: For my money, Steak and Shake does the best shakes you can get from a fast food place. There's a certain creamy body that the hand dipped ice cream gives, and even the basic vanilla is quite tasty. In fact, a plain vanilla eaten with the meal can be a surprisingly good palette cleanser. And their recent addition of the hot fudge option takes them to a whole different level. It's like getting to drink a really good hot fudge sundae, regardless of which base flavor you're enjoying. A perfect dessert, or a fun compliment to a meal.

Value: 5: The one downside is that these guys are PRICEY. A large with fudge costs as much as a loaded up steakburger or chicken sandwhich, unless you purchase it as part of a combo, in which case they bring the price down to about $7 for the entire combo.

Serving Suggestions: Shake + Steakburger or Double + Onion Rings = Meal Satisfaction. I also strongly reccomend the Hot Fudge if you like chocolate. It takes a good thing and makes it even better.

Additional Thoughts: I save these guys as a special treat for me, especially when on road trips, since that's when I can get best access to S&S franchises. And if you order it in the sit down restaurant rather than take out, they give you a serving that's rather nice to share with your date for the night. They're quite a bit better than the McDonald's Triple-rich shakes, or Wendy's Frosty. Burger King's shakes can match some of the texture, but the flavor doesn't stand up. The only downside to these is the price, and the fact that S&S franchises tend to either be off major highway exits, or in downtown metro areas, which can make them a bit hard to reach.

Final Grade: 6. A great treat or part of a meal, but expensive enough to make you think twice before you do it.

Current Mood: Shaketastic!
8:18 am
[thegreath]
Brief Burger King Notes
I shall make this quick my fellow foodites.

1. The spicy tender-crisp chicken sandwich is indeed crispy! I was quite shocked and quite pleased to discover this.

2. Burger King has a new, unadvertised (i.e. no TV or web promotions yet) burger called the steak burger. It features a thick meat patty made from angus beef. It apparently has grilled onions and A-1 steaksauce. I haven't gotten it yet, but look forward to it.

-H, who is now haunted by the old A-1 steakburger commercial.
7:49 am
[xaxxa]
My recipe.
See, as some of you know, I work in a Denny's-ish 'restaraunt'. Done so for the past year and eight months. And when you do such things, you get quite bored. And well, a brother like me likes to eat. Especially when as a manager, the company's footing the bill for my grub. So, occasionally, I fiend a steak. Unfortunately, we use middling-quality steaks. But, I've come up with a marinade that's pretty tasty. Soak the steak for 3 hours, cook it to a nice juicy medium, and devour. It also works well with deer steaks, as we did tonight.

But on to the recipe.

Randall's (I don't have a flashy name for it yet) Marinade.

Ingreedients:

3/4 cup of Mr. Yoshida's Sesame Garlic Sauce and Marinade,
1 oz Frank's Red Hot Original Cayanne Pepper Sauce
1/2 cup House of Tsang Sweet and Sour Sauce.

Mix and blend evenly until the contents are fully mixed.

Pretty simple eh? Mind you, this recipe's for about 12 oz worth of sauce, because my lovely waitress requested me to make some so she could marinade some chicken breasts in it. So adjust the recipe accordingly depending on what you wish to marinade, but I can tell you...and my co-workers will testify, it's some tasty sauce.
Thursday, April 22nd, 2004
2:43 am
[gigerlicious]
Tuesday, April 13th, 2004
1:51 pm
[ljacone]
Big Tuna (not Bill Parcells)
Name of Item: BK Fish Filet (formerly BK Big Fish) with side of Medium Fries.
Chain/Brand: Burger King
Price: $3.86 after tax
Nitty Gritty: One (1) square filet of fried frish, topped with a slice of yellow American cheese, shredded lettuce, and tartar sauce, served on a sesame seed bun; and a carton of French-Fried potatoes.
Optional Steps: None. Although I might have said "No cheese" if I had known it had any; see below.

Aroma: 5. Nothing either way as the Big Fish is not especially odiferous. The fries had little scent since they were not that fresh.
Fillingness: 6. Decent for a non-Hardee's sandwich. I could have downed two of these and fries and I would have been satisfied.
Mouthfeel: HOT. One thing about fish sandwiches is that save for Long John Silver's, most places don't keep a level of them. Thus, its hot when you get it! The cool tartar sauce and lettuce made a nice temperature contrast to the hot filet and the melting cheese.
Taste: 8. My favorite mainstream fish sandwich. The filet is decent sized and very flavorful, and the shredded lettuce works well with it. As for the cheese, well, its odd. When I worked at BK when I was in high school, there was no cheese on the sandwich. And the pictures on the menu still show no cheese. But yet the sandwich has cheese. I don't mind, really, since it tastes pretty good. But you could delete it and not effect the Taste score any. What really makes this sandwich shine is the tartar sauce. It's not too mild and not too strong and it makes a perfect compliment to the filet. The fries were mediocre at best; BK fries are good hot but when they cool a bit they tend to get a little chewy. Still, the warm ones were good.
Value: 6. Docked a point because this was the on-campus BK, who has higher prices. Two of these for less than $5 is not bad at all, though.

Serving Suggestions: Ask for No Salt fries so they have to make them fresh. Depending on your cheese n fish stance, delete cheese.

Additional Thoughts: I used to consume these things with reckless abandon in high school, and I still like them today, so they must be good. If you don't like fish sandwiches, though, don't expect it to win you over. Eventually I am going to need to do a one on one comaprison of the Big Fish (oh, pardon me, BK Fish Filet) and the Filet-O-Fish to see who the Grand Champion of Fish Sammichs is.

Final Grade: 7. A very good sandwich and a personal fav. Not for everyone though. Recommended.

Current Mood: fishy food
Tuesday, March 30th, 2004
3:32 pm
[ljacone]
Lunchie Munchie
Name of Item: 1/3 Pound Cheeseburger Combo Meal (Small)
Chain/Brand: Hardee's
Price: $3.99
Nitty Gritty: 1 1/3rd pound Angus Beef cheeseburger, on a sesame seed bun, topped with ketchup, mustard, onions, and pickles; a side of fries; and a "small" soft drink.
Optional Steps: Considered getting bacon, decided against it since its like 80 cents. For a drink I got unsweetened tea, a common beverage down south.

Aroma: 6. Smelt pretty good, but nothing really stood out to me.
Fillingness: 8. Good fillingness. I did have to refill my tea, but that is more indicitive of the fact that I walked to the restaurant, about half to three-quarters of a mile.
Mouthfeel: Neat. The sandwich seemed well made with the toppings and condiments not just slapped on there. The fries have a bit of crispness to them.
Taste: 9. Angus beef makes the best burgers, and since the toppings/condiments were well distributed, no one spot had over-powering flavors. The beef is lean and not greasy, the pickles and onions crisp, and the mustard and ketchup not overpowering. The fries are good, sorta like McDonald's fries but a little crisper. The tea, sweetened with a packet of Sweet N Low, was refreshing.
Value: 8. I was suitably filled up for 3.99 whereas I don't think a 3.99 meal at BK or McDs would have done the same.

Serving Suggestions: Nothing springs readily to mind other than to get whatever you want to drink, etc.

Additional Thoughts: Hardee's is apparently pushing its "bigger is better" philosphy on all things. This was a "small" combo, but the size of the drink is equal to the size of a medium in most chains, plus it is refillable, of course. The fries and the burger are served in a basket brought to your table, and for a small, there were plenty of fries here. I had fries all the way to the end of the sandwich. So unless you are really honking hungry, a small Thickburger combo should fill you up nicely. Another note is that, like all Thickburgers, this sandwich is served with a "half-wrap;" that is, half of the sandwich is wrapped in paper so as to be neater. Which is not as big a deal on this sandwich as it is with the Low Carb Thickburger (no bun) or the dearly-missed Chilli Cheeseburger. Still, a nice touch.

Final Grade: 8. A good sandwich and a good meal, makes a very good lunch. Worth walking down to Hardee's and the cheapest Thickburger you can buy. Strongly Recommended.

Current Mood: thoughtful about Thickburgers
Monday, March 29th, 2004
4:38 pm
[denebola]
Burger Time
Name of Item: Burger King Double Cheeseburger Combo, Plus an Extra Double Cheeseburger
Chain/Brand: Burger King
Price: 2.99 plus tax
Nitty Gritty: Two Double-Cheeseburgers with pickles, American cheese, sweet pickle chips, yellow mustard, and ketchup on a seasame-seed bun. Burger King's fries, which seem to be made in peanut oil, from the taste of them, and a medium-sized Dr. Pepper .

Optional Steps: Used a coupon for a buy-one get one free Double Cheeseburger. The drive-thru girl was kind enough to give me the combo price, making for some nice savings. I chalk it up to my sexy voice.

Aroma: 6 Those fries just made my mouth water like all get out.
Fillingness: 7
Mouthfeel: Not too greasy, but enough that it tasted of chargrilled love.
Taste: 5 Nothing extraordinary.
Value: 9 Deals don't get much better.

Serving Suggestions: Goes well with fries and the beveridge of your choice. Unfortunately, no Mr. Pibb.

Additional Thoughts: Honestly, it's your average burger fare, but at that sort of price, not to mention with one of the two kinds of best-prepared fries in fast food today, it can't really be beat. Not to mention that the service at that Burger King was superior to most fast food places, which made my experience all the more pleasurable. Still, I wouldn't have been adverse to swapping in some chipolte mayonaise, which I've become addicted to thanks to my job. On a medium-well cooked Black Angus burger, that stuff is heavenly.

Final Grade: 7 (Modified thanks to service from a 6.5)

Current Mood: mellow
Thursday, March 25th, 2004
10:39 pm
[thegreath]
TenderCrisp is love.
Man, I just had another TenderCrisp chicken sandwich from Burger King and it was still awesome. TenderCrisp = love.



-H
Wednesday, March 24th, 2004
1:38 am
[canadiacookie]
Nacho nacho man!
Name of Item: Chili Con Queso
Chain/Brand: Taco Mac
Price: $3.50? I forget
Nitty Gritty: Hard and soft corn chips, salsa, chili cheese dip.
Optional Steps: No optional steps.

Aroma: 5. These are nachos after all, they didn't have too strong of a smell to them.
Fillingness: 8. If I had been eating these alone it would be a 10, but being 2 these went very quickly. However I went to another Taco Mac and this particular dish seemed to be smaller. I guess the amount varies from restaurant.
Mouthfeel: 8. The hard corn chips are nice and crunchy, nothing special. But the soft corn chips are to die for. Roll them up, dunk them in the cheese dip and enjoy a nice warm gooey treat.
Taste: 9. It tastes fantabulous, I could eat these every day.
Value: 9. It's an excellent bargain, especially if you add a soda, free refills.

Serving Suggestions: Add a drink to make it taste better, especially the salsa, at times it gets spicy. I tried various fountain drinks but root beer seems to have been the perfect combination for me.

Additional Thoughts: Nothing here.

Final Grade: 9. God I love those Nachos. Knowing there is no Taco Mac in Canada ticks me off. I could kill someone for those soft corn chips and chili cheese dip. I could do without the hard corn chips and salsa though. Just pile on more soft corn chips and it would be perfect.
Tuesday, March 23rd, 2004
1:04 pm
[thegreath]
A vagrant child!
Name of Item: Tendercrisp Chicken Sandwich
Chain: Burger King
Price: No idea.
Nitty Gritty: 1x "Tendercrisp" Chicken Breast, 2x tomato slices, lettuce fragments, mayonnaise, 1x "corn-dusted" bun
Optional Steps: None

Aroma: 5 (No discernable scents.)
Fillingness: 9 (..burp.)
Mouthfeel: Tender. Not crispy.
Taste: 8
Value: 8

Serving Suggestions: Perhaps a slice of cheese and some ketchup instead of mayo. Adding fries to this may just be too much for this badboy of a sandwich.

Additional Thoughts: A pretty decent offering from Burger King if I do say so myself. The breaded chicken breast was quite large and tender, although not very crispy. I'd dare say that BK is falsely calling it crisp. Distinct chicken flavor and texture, very enjoyable to eat. The "corn-dusted" bun is nothing spectacular and is often called a kaiser roll at Wendy's (which is not true, as I've had a real kaiser roll and what Wendy's serves is far from the real deal). If they added a few more herbs and spices to the breading, they would've easily made the most kickass chicken sandwich ever.

Final Grade: 9


-H
[ << Previous 20 ]
About LiveJournal.com